M-Class (W164) Produced 2006-2011: ML280CDI, ML320CDI, ML420CDI, ML350, ML500, ML550

Coming from Lexus fam, wife want ML350. Need your advice...

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-01-2010, 03:59 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lexus ES & GS
Coming from Lexus fam, wife want ML350. Need your advice...

hi everyone, very cool forum here anyway i'm a newbie in MB world. We've been owning couple Lexus (sedan) in the last few years and about to have 2nd kid in the next few months. So wife been bugging me to get SUV and she like ML350 but I'm just a bit worry about the maintenance cost on MB. So my questions :

1. How's the maintenance of ML350 ? How easy it is to DIY oil change, brake/rotor replacement ?

2. How long this car can last ? We definitely going to drive it for at least 4/5 years.

3. How's 2006 ML350 ? I assume this is the 1st generation of the new model, right ?

Need your opinions / advices on this Thanks in advance !
Old 10-01-2010, 05:53 PM

2008 ML350
Lexus versus ML

I have just replaced a 2004 Lexus RX330 with a certified preowned 2008 ML350. I have also driven the new 2010 RX350s as loaners when my Lexus was having service intervals done.
Since I'm new to the ML I can answer your questions by experience but thought you might benefit from these observations. Being a Lexus family, I wonder if you did not consider an RX350.

The ML handles much like a large car but you can feel the road; The Lexus RXs have very soft suspension and there's lots of leaning/ body roll. The ML hugs corners nicely and has snappier acceleration. The RXs get better gas mileage (maybe 3-5 mpg average difference) and you don't need to use premium unleaded like the ML. The ML is built like a tank and you can hear the heft/ weight when you close the doors. If handling isn't such a big deal, the RX is much more practical due to running cost and there's many more places to store stuff inside the cabin and the back seats move forward and back and recline.