R-Class (W251) Produced 2006-2013: R320CDI, R350, R420CDI, R500

7G transmission

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-14-2006, 10:32 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
2015 S550, 2015 SL550, 2015 Lamborghini Huracan
7G transmission

I have been driving the R for 2 months and it is a wonderful car. However, recently I have noticed that there is a lag in the transmission. When coming to a fast stop and then suddenly step on the acclerator, there is a lag of 2 seconds as if the transmission is thinking. There is absolutely no power during this time and then the power returns. Anybody had a problem like this before?
Old 02-15-2006, 06:17 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts
Mercedes-Benz
take it to the dealer, probably valve body issue.
Old 03-15-2006, 02:11 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
MB R500, BMW X-5 4.4i
Known issue with probable fix

We have R500 which suffered many problems since the first day of delivery.

One of which is annoying 3-2 rough downshifting (not 2-1 since it is present in both C and S drive modes) which my SA called "normal" behavior for 7G transmission. However, this known issue with solution.

Ask your SA to look into

TSB Number: T-27-60-68

Good luck

Last edited by Chocomonsters; 03-15-2006 at 02:29 AM.
Old 03-15-2006, 03:59 AM
Almost a Member!

I'm going to order one R so can you tell me what the problems are?? You think I better wait few more months to order??Thanks....btw any pics ??
Old 03-17-2006, 02:07 AM

MB R500, BMW X-5 4.4i
First of all, my wife still loves R500 despite its many problems so far. We have about 2500 miles on it so far. It has had many QA issues so far.

#1: Faulty temp sensor caused the radiator fan to run randomly. Oh boy, does R500 has loud radiator fan when it is running full speed. Inside indoor parking structure, I could hear her driving by as it sounded like airplane landing. It was fixed by our dealer and problem solved.