S-Class (W140) 1991-1999: 300 SD, S 350TD, 300 SE 2.8, S280, 300 SE 3.2, 300 SEL 3.2, S320, S320L, 400 SE, S420, 400 SEL, S420L, 500 SE, S500, 500 SEL, S500L, 600 SE, S600, 600 SEL, S600L, 500 SEC, 600 SEC

Are you dissappointed in your w140?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-22-2004, 05:24 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1997 S600 - Bentley Turbo R (black/black)
Are you dissappointed in your w140?

Are you dissappointed in your W140?

Dont misunderstand my question. I am sure most of you love your w140's, like i do.

But arent you dissappointed in what you have had to face in quality issues, maintenance problems, money $$ and effort you had to put in dealing with these problems ! Specially for a car cost so much, and supposedly has a reputation of a high quality and a prominent name !

I raise this subject, because i have owned few w140's and i have been a car broker for over 10 years, and have driven, owned, bought and sold all kinds of cars from A to z, over and over.

Anything can go wrong with the w140. Even simple stuff that doesnt even go wrong with cars thousands and thousands less and with double the miles of a w140. Its a shame, to see a car like the w140 that is 100k new and have to encounter poor quality issues that you never face with cars that have double the miles or abou 20k new (i.e honda, toyota,buicks.. etc.).

My car has around 84k, and i baby it to the most part. i have put less then 7k in year and half, and i had issues with sunroof, my window buttons sinking in, my keys, the rear shocks, speakers, and now the good old expensive climate control problem (heater/ac), among other issues.

Yes you have some people that drive their car for a year and not have to face these issues. But i think they are lucky so far, or have not YET encountered issues.