Im a Newbie here thsi is my 1st MB

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-22-2009, 08:35 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2000 s430
Im a Newbie here thsi is my 1st MB

i have purchased a 2000 S430 this is my 1st MB
but i noticed that it shows signs of rust near the rear wheel is this a sign of salt damage?
also is there a ipod interface for the radio?
Old 02-22-2009, 08:45 AM

Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts
Range Rover
WELCOME TO THE CLUB.

Rust is known problem all these cars especially if you live up north. Your dealer "might" be able to do something about it but you have to have had the car inspected every two years or something like that. Someone else may be able to chime in on the exact way it was covered and to what extent.

They do make ipod interface units for the car. you can just search google for them if you want a direct connection, they can be a little high though. I just bought a tape adapter and it works perfectly fine and still sounds great.

Post pics,
Old 02-22-2009, 09:06 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 22 Likes on 14 Posts
2005 S500 4-Matic, 1978 450SL
Welcome to the forum.

A device that provided direct input through the fiber optics will provide the best sound quality. One is the Dension Gateway 500. See https://mbworld.org/forums/audio-ele...mentation.html for information on one. Your car has a D2B fiber optics bus (system), so you would need the D2B version; the D2B version has a much simpler installation than for the MOST bus shown in the link, but will not provide song titles on COMAND or on the instrument cluster display. You do song, artist, album, or playlist selection on the iPod, but can control volume and can scroll from the steering wheel.

The MB iPod kit cannot be fitted to your car.

I do not believe the Mobridge, iTronic, or DICE devices are available for D2B fiber optics, but you can check. A search of the forum will help you.