S55 AMG, S65 AMG , S63 AMG (W220, W221) 2001 - 2013 (Two Generations)

Potential S55AMG with 50K Miles Purchase

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-09-2012, 03:30 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
MB S55 AMG
Potential S55AMG with 50K Miles Purchase

Guys,
Newbie here. I am just about to finalize a deal on a 2005 S55AMG with 45k miles on the clock. Seller is asking $32K for it.

Car is in excellent condition and the owner (original) has provided me with every single maintenance service record. Pretty detailed history actually, but I didnt really find anything extreme/ critical that made me nervous.

Anyway, I have a coupe of questions before I pull the plug on this one.

1) How do you feel about the $31k price. Is it pretty steep?
2) After reviewing the service history records, I was a little 'depressed' to see no documentation on ABC system at all. I mean, I know the dreaded ABC system is designed to fail and I was hoping to see atleast some work done on it. At 45k miles, do you think the system is safe as it is? At what mileage is it subject to fail anyway?
3) What are the other IMPORTANT items prone to the S55 functionality that you would suggest I check/verify?

I am pretty handy with garage mechanic tools and I have a general knowledge on how to go about fixing cars. However, I am planning on taking the car to the 'stealership' for a PPI but I believe it would defeat the purpose and it might be a total waste of time and/or money if the price is off and if I don't personally conduct a preliminary test on obvious and common issues associated with this car.

Before I take it in to the 'stealer' and I would really like to know what to look for to determine whether it is ideal to pursue it or not.

Any input (positive/ negative) will be highly appreciated.

Thanks.
Old 07-09-2012, 04:12 PM

MB S55 AMG
BUMP....

551 views but no input?
Old 07-09-2012, 04:43 PM

Received 8 Likes on 4 Posts
2005 SL500, 2015 GLK350 & S63, 2020 C63 & G63 and 2021 GLC63