SL55 AMG, SL63 AMG, SL65 AMG (R230) 2002 - 2011 (2003 US for SL55 and 2004 for the SL65)

SL55/63/65/R230 AMG: Asking for Advice on buying a local SL55 AMG with "grey market" title

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-23-2014, 02:02 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
'13 Wrangler 4dr JK MOAB / '14 Tesla Model S 60w
Asking for Advice on buying a local SL55 AMG with "grey market" title

Hello,
There is a 2002 SL55 AMG in my area with 71k miles for $26k.
http://orangecounty.craigslist.org/cto/4427360578.html

It has some mods (ECU tune, exhaust, pulley, wheels/tires), but the owner has no dyno numbers available. He said the ECU tune was done over the internet by Eurocharged, done by Jerry out of Houston location. I'm new to this whole scene so hopefully that rings a bell to some SL55 veterans. These mods were installed by the current owner, which is good because that means the extra wear was not placed on the engine for a terribly long period of time, although i do not know yet how many miles it had when he bought it stock.

Moving forward, he says that the title is a grey market title on carfax because it was titled in Germany and owned there and then brought over. He is the 3rd owner of the car.

I have to say, i love the color, i love that it has some mods (i dont like the wheels), but at the same time, it has a lot of red flags with multiple owners, 71k miles, and this grey market imported title.

Also Kelly blue book does not list SL55 AMG for 2002, the owner says that this is a mistake because it was available in 2002 for a short period before transitioning to 2003. Can anyone confirm that? I'd hope this was not a standard SL with SL55 body/engine/etc added to make it look AMG.

With everything above, and checking kelly blue book for a 2003 sl55 it seems that if this was in good condition and a 2003 it would be worth about $23k. The mods are worth Zero in my opinion. With the grey market title i feel like $18-20k should be the real price.