SLK-Class (R170) 1998-2003: SLK 200, SLK 230K, SLK 320

SLK/R170: Cleaning tips for your SLK

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-13-2002, 10:50 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2002 SLK 320
Cleaning tips for your SLK

I'm no pro, but I do like to keep my SLK ship-shape and bristol-fashioned. I thought I'd share the products and tips that I've picked up in the last few months that seem to work really well for me.

Now, I'll admit that I do spend rather a lot of time doing this - about 3 hours a week - but the results are superb and it's a lot of fun because I invariably end up having a conversation with someone about the car. Indeed, the owner of the car wash that I use has now decided to buy an SLK!

Against all recommendations, I usually start with the exterior first. This is simply because, I love to see the car shiny clean and can really enjoy it while I'm doing the interior... childish? You bet!

<b>Exterior</b>

I find the exterior to be much easier than the interior. Every Saturday morning, I do the following:

(1) Run the car through a "no-touch" car wash. I do not ask for any polishes or waxes, just your basic water, soap, rinse. Normally costs somewhere between $7 and $10.

(2) Using a chamois leather, I dry the exterior completely.

(3) Like it or not, the car wash will not have removed all the dirt, particularly around the wells and under the doors. It is also very unlikely that some of the more stubborn bug-splats will have been removed from the nose. To fix this, I have a small spray bottle of water that I use with a sponge to remove the last remanents.