E55 as a DD

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-01-2010, 04:57 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
BMW E21 Turbo
Talking E55 as a DD

Hey Fellas,

I'm new to the Mercedes world, but not to cars in general. I've been restoring BMW's for a long time, and I'm very comfortable with and capable of doing my own work, and fabricating my own parts is not a big deal if necessary.

In a few months, I'll be in the market for a "new" car to be my daily driver - mostly. I inherited my father's old Lexus ES300 a few years ago (nobody else wanted it, and resale was very low), and it's boring me to death. I'll still have it as a backup car if necessary.

I was looking at the E39 (2000-2003) M5, and one of my friends, a C55 AMG owner, tried to push me to look at what Affalterbach had to offer. He said that he DD's his C55 with no issues, and that it would probably make a much better all around daily driver than the M5. Honestly, I believe it. As much as I love driving stick shift, being stuck in Houston traffic would just be horrible on the clutch, and would probably get annoying after a year or so. I already have an old E21 3 series track car, so I don't need another stick shift.

While I was looking at the C's, I caught a glimpse of the E's. I really like the looks of the W211, and I LOVE the idea of 515 ft*lb of torque. I mean, good lord. That's enough torque to make the earth spin the other way. I tried searching to find threads on the daily driveability of these monsters, but I couldn't find much consistent data. So that leads me to ask: