Sponsored by:

Car falls on its face at WOT

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-23-2019, 11:10 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2004 E55 AMG
Car falls on its face at WOT

Hey guys. I’m brand new to the world of Mercedes. Picked up an 04 E55 AMG last month. Bought a bunch of parts and had a shop install them all for me. HE and pump. VRP pulleys. BWK. 72mm SC pulley. ECU tune. And water methanol injection for extra cooling. After test driving the car when they were finished the car falls right on it’s face at WOT. It doesn’t go anywhere. Goes to downshift and then NOTHING. At quarter, half or three quarters throttle the car runs beautifully. Only at WOT is there an issue. Feels like you’re hitting a wall. And then after it’s smacks itself the idle will go up and down while stopped but after turning the car off and back on it’s fine again.

The shop is saying it could be the throttle body or possibly fuel cut due to maxing out the stock injectors? I’m not tuned for the water meth so the only power mods I have are the SC pulley and race iq tune. Before the mods the car had zero issues. Is there a common issue with the stock TB’s after power mods? are these mods enough to need bigger injectors?

ive read countless threads and can’t find anything of any help. Please help the noob out :/

Last edited by Sullii; 10-23-2019 at 11:12 PM.
Old 10-24-2019, 07:17 AM

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
2019 GLC63, 2004 Ford Lightning
Originally Posted by Sullii