W211 AMG Discuss the W211 AMG's such as the E55 and the E63
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Bi-xenon Retrofit

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-03-2005, 10:03 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
14 SLS Black Series, 09 SL65 AMG Black Series, 15 G63 AMG, 15 Ferrari Speciale, 16 GTR Nismo
Bi-xenon Retrofit

hello all,

i'm a newbie. i just bought a slightly used 2005 E55 with 3200 miles on it. i love the car, but it did not have bi-xenons. when i bought the car, i thought it wouldn't be a big deal to retrofit them (i had before on one of my cars previously).

anyway, i've called several dealers here in atlanta and they want approx $7000 to $10000!!! they have to be nuts. they said they had to change out the entire wiring harness, and it wasn't just a "plug-n-play" for 2005 models.

is this because of regulations and laws for self-leveling and so forth? can the halogens be upgrade with the bi-xenons without changing the entire wiring harness? i'm assuming i won't have the self-leveling or adaptive features...but i don't care. i just can't stand the yellow lights.

has anyone upgraded his/her halogens on an 2005? what do i need to do to make this happen? what should be a reasonable cost? where can i get some bi-xenons at a good price? how hard is the intall?

thanks for your input.
Old 02-04-2005, 05:19 AM

2004 E55 AMG
Shouldnt a E55 come with bi-xenons as standard? how come this one wasnt?
Old 02-04-2005, 11:31 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by chem0
Bi-xenons on US cars is an option.
Old 02-04-2005, 12:54 PM
Super Moderator

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
W221
Originally Posted by chem0
I heard in order to keep the base price of the E55 low, they had to skimp out on alot of things...and xenons standard was one of them...Cheap *******s...
Old 03-12-2005, 12:12 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
'03 G500, '13 G63, '17 GLS63,