W212 AMG Discuss the W212 AMG's such as the E63

ECU Tune - Is running rich better?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-16-2019 | 03:11 AM

2014 E63
ECU Tune - Is running rich better?

Hi guys!

I have a 14' E63s and currently working on removing the cats and resonator. Resonator is gone already (and wow big difference sound wise relative to the required time and effort, its like installing an stereo amplifier for the engine/exhaust)
Anyway, cat is going away soon, all i was looking for is those turbo sound. Since everybody knows when the cats are gone, CEL will come off, so i need a tune soon after!

I am a complete newbie in tunes and hope i could use some of your advise!

I only get Chevron 94 octane here in Vancouver BC and most say Shell 91 is even better...and imo, the 94 still gave the car a tiny bit more power when i full throttle it....anyway the 94 is prob not a really good 94 anyway? (i have no idea...)
SO my question is:

Should i go for a less aggressive tune like a 91 octane or just go for the full on 94 bigger tune? If i go for the 91 tune and actually use 94, some say its actually better to run rich and would get more power out of it?
*** been looking at Renntech and DME just because i could do it in the garage with the OBD and not need to send the ECU out

Thanks and hope someone could provide some insights!
Old 08-16-2019 | 03:30 AM

2014 E550 4MATIC TUNED - Turbo Upgraded Stage 3
Originally Posted by Kkpm
Hi guys!

I have a 14' E63s and currently working on removing the cats and resonator. Resonator is gone already (and wow big difference sound wise relative to the required time and effort, its like installing an stereo amplifier for the engine/exhaust)
Anyway, cat is going away soon, all i was looking for is those turbo sound. Since everybody knows when the cats are gone, CEL will come off, so i need a tune soon after!