C-Class (W203) 2001-2007, C160, C180, C200, C220, C230, C240, C270, C280, C300, C320, C230K, C350, Coupe

M271 timing chain cover issue

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-15-2016, 05:58 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2005 Mercedes Benz c230 kompressor
M271 timing chain cover issue

Hello everyone, I'm new to this and I have a 2005 c230 kompressor m271 motor with 174,835 miles and I'm starting to do the timing chain. I've had no problem with this car since I first bought it back in 2011, only major work was the a/c pump with new engine and transmission mounts. This car has been great to me, very well maintained and taking care of. My question is I just started doing the timing chain with new cylinder head, new supercharger, waterpump, new heater and coolant hoses, even a new exhaust manifold. Well I'm having trouble installing the main big timing chain cover which I think it's called the lower timing cover? Please anyone with experience please help. The cover is getting stuck hitting the front of the head gasket. Do I have to drop the oil pan to get it to fit or how? Please please anyone help!!!
Old 11-16-2016, 02:30 AM

Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts
W203 c200 Kompressor
Look for RedGrays post

Timing Chain
Old 11-16-2016, 08:11 AM

Received 91 Likes on 77 Posts
2005 C230K Sport Coupe
If someone removes the timing chain cover, then they have to lower the front cross member and oil pan. See around the 3min mark.

Most people/mechanics thread the timing chain and use the link and tool. That way, the timing chain cover doesn't have to be removed, and the front cross member and oil pan don't have to be lowered.

Note, you can remove and replace the left timing chain guide rail, without removing the timing chain cover.
Note: Buy original MB timing chain guide rails only!

See:
03-05 mercedes c230 1.8 timing marks
Cody the Car Guy

Last edited by RedGray; 11-16-2016 at 08:16 AM.
Old 11-16-2016, 08:39 PM