C32 AMG, C55 AMG (W203) 2001 - 2007

E55 supercharger on a C55?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-13-2008, 04:54 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2005 C55 AMG
E55 supercharger on a C55?

I am new to Mercedes. I just got an 05 C55. I am curious about making more power in the future. Can you take the SC from an E55 and bolt it on a C55? Do you need to use the E55 PCM or can you just have the C55 Tuned for the SC. Just curious for a little extra power that you can feel.
Old 04-13-2008, 04:57 PM
Moderator Alumni

Received 20 Likes on 7 Posts
w203 m112
I believe there was someone in the w211 forums who did this swap, but with a custom larger supercharger pulley to keep boost levels down. OJwerks is doing the same kinda conversion w/ his slk320 and a c32 SC.
Old 04-13-2008, 05:25 PM

2005 C55 AMG
Links??
Old 04-13-2008, 06:03 PM

C55
what about compression ratio?
Old 04-13-2008, 06:10 PM

2005 C55 AMG
I'm looking for a low boost. It should not be a problem I don't think
Old 04-13-2008, 06:16 PM

2005 C55 AMG
This is an upgrade I hope to do one day, when finances allow. Our motors are 11:1, therefore they would obviously not tolerate as much boost as the lower compression E55 setup, however we certainly can still put a supercharger on the car and run lower boost levels. Today's fuel management systems allow for much more tunability and therefore fuel delivery. It's simply a matter of getting enough fuel to compensate the extra air from the SC, and managing the other ignition-related parameters. As someone else mentioned, you'd simply have to use a bigger pulley to lower the boost levels, and then do some testing with an air/fuel ratio monitor to find a safe operating range for the boost.

I'd love to see more people undertaking this task so we can develop a learning curve along the way. For me, it'll have to wait, but I'm certainly anxious to see good results from others who make the move.
Old 04-13-2008, 06:29 PM

2005 C55 AMG