C32 AMG, C55 AMG (W203) 2001 - 2007

DIY: Phenolic Spacers and Gaskets

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-02-2009, 07:23 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Volvo
DIY: Phenolic Spacers and Gaskets

This weekend, since it was “O.K” weather in the bay area, I decided to install the Needwings Gaskets, I also have the Code 3 Phenolic Spacers and during this DIY, I will show you how to install them. I am no way a mechanic and I am not ASE certified, I am a Computer Engineer who’s pretty handy with tools. Do this at your own risk as I take no responsibility on what you do, I simply posted this as a guide with pictures.
I wasn't sure if there was a DIY so i made one anyway

Tools Needed:

1. Torx 30 Driver
2. 7mm 3/8 Socket
3. 3/8 Socket Wrench
4. Small Flashlight
5. Maybe a Flathead
6. Your gaskets or Phenolic Spacers

Open the Hood, Remove the Top Cover (The one with the Mercedes logo on it) Lift on both sides (They are Clips holding it in) Don't just yank it off or you will break the clips

Now its time to take off the Air boxes/Intake. First undo the clip at the back of the air box on the "Y Splitter"

Then there are 2-3 clips holding the air box in place, Give a little force and yank up the 2 air boxes like so.

Pull both air boxes out

Now it’s time to remove the "Y Splitter" From the Throttle Body
First there are 2 clips holding this black Y-Splitter in.
1 on the top Right, The other on the bottom of the "Y Spliter" on the left.
Note: This is a very tight space, and getting this piece out is a PITA, Be careful not to Break the tabs off the "Y Splitter" It takes some time to get it out.

Located the bolts on the left and right manifold, Use your Torx 30 Driver and carefully start to unfasten the bolts. (I took all the bolts out because when it came time to remove the intake manifolds they kept trying to thread themselves back in)