C63 AMG (W204) 2008 - 2015

10 new owner questions I have about my C63

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-04-2017, 06:56 AM

Received 72 Likes on 52 Posts
2018 e63s edition 1
10 new owner questions I have about my C63

I bought a 2012 non performance package car today and have compiled A LOT of "first day" questions. I have researched and answered some other questions but lots of this are more particular and thought lots of these will be easy for you guys to rattle off and answer. So if you want to answer some or all of these I'd like to hear the opinions and most importantly learn about my car.

Thanks in advance!

1) The dealership I bought the car from did a complimentary oil change today using what they called "Total" brand 5w40. Doing some quick research I'm learning that 5w40 is indeed the recommend oil but I'm reading that Total Quartz (assuming that's what it is) in 5w40 is ACTUALLY a semi synthetic group 3 oil. I'm no expert but that makes me nervous. Should I change it ASAP!? Also, without an oil battle what are my options? Do I just bite the bullet and go to the stealership for m1 5w40? What about recommended oil filters? I'm in Vancouver, canada for weather reference - It doesn't really get below -10 or -15 degrees C (5-14 F)

2)Where is the sensor on the rear view mirror that I can cover so the side mirror and rear view mirror don't tint themselves. I believe I've read that's the only way to do it?

3)What is the best way to launch the car from a roll? Does handling mode matter? Perhaps put it in s+ and use the paddle to get into a gear at the right RPM and then let the car shift itself from there?

4) Quickest/best way to launch from a dig?

5)With the C,S,S+ and M modes, is there any reason why I can't be switching back and forth between those while driving? I'd assume Mercedes would look that out while in motion but I'm **** with my cars and don't want to put any stress on it.