E-Class (W210) 1995-2002: E 200, E 220D, E 240, E 290TD, E 300TD, E 200, E 240, E 280, E 320, E 420, E 430 (Wagon, Touring, 4Matic)

NEED a POSI DIFFERENTIAL LIMITED SLIP

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-01-2008, 07:04 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
E300DT
NEED a POSI DIFFERENTIAL LIMITED SLIP

Hi,
I'm new here, and to Mercedes. I was dumbfounded to the realization that Mercedes rarely uses a limited slip.
I have a W210 E300TD, and ofcourse it has an open differential. Now I'm a mechanic and every vehicle I have ever owned has been rear wheel drive and WITH a posi!!! If not when I bought it, then it got one soon after.
I could not believe that Mercedes did not use one in this vehicle. They however did use one in other vehicles. I hope that someone here can help me. I want to know if any other vehicles diff. can be adapted in some way to install into this E body. I have found rear diff's on Ebay, and I'm willing to buy even two or tree to put together to install. The performance Mercedes companies want way to much for one.
I know (or think) that there were two size diff's in E bodys. As long as I can use my shafts, I feel that I can adapt anything. I do a bit of custom fabrication. I have not looked under my vehicle yet, but I'm led to believe that my rear ratio is either 3.07 or 3.47 or close to those numbers from memory.

PS. I know about the electronic ASR system, which is BS. It actually brakes or cuts power to the driveline. I do not want to kill power to my rear wheels, I just want better traction under hard throttle. I already drive most of the time with that switch off.

Please reply with ANY info that you might have to help me.
Thank you
Lowflyingbird

Last edited by Lowflyingbird; 11-01-2008 at 07:07 PM.
Old 11-01-2008, 07:55 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
2001 E430