Fiber optic line severed... help!!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-17-2007, 03:19 AM
Almost a Member!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Fiber optic line severed... help!!

Newbie here,

My 05 E320 was recently a victim. Some jack-*** forced into the trunk (by cutting through the metal behind the rear seat!!) and jacked the DVD Nav drive. I was told about 1500 dollars to fix, just from a service adviser who took a quick look at it, I can live with that as long as my stereo, command unit and all of the other electrical items on the chain work again.

So I made an appt. at my local MB dealer. It was then when they discovered the worst part. They told me that the fiber optic cable was cut by the thieves and that there was no way to repair fiber optic lines. I figured at least they could add a new connector or something. To replace the system with the new wiring harness all the navi components, it will be about 2400 in parts and a ga-(you dont even want to know)-jillion service hours to thread the cable through the car. Doesnt this seem like overkill? Are they trying to stick me?

Have any of you been through something similar, to do with the fiber optics in particular? I can live without nav, if there was some way to bypass the damaged area, just as long as the command unit works.

HELP?!

Oh and no unfortunately insurance is out of the question.
Old 07-17-2007, 04:02 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 294 Likes on 246 Posts
223.168 & 213.012 & 906.633 & 214.005
Originally Posted by Kirkham
Newbie here,

My 05 E320 was recently a victim. Some jack-*** forced into the trunk (by cutting through the metal behind the rear seat!!) and jacked the DVD Nav drive. I was told about 1500 dollars to fix, just from a service adviser who took a quick look at it, I can live with that as long as my stereo, command unit and all of the other electrical items on the chain work again.