E-Class (W211) 2003-2009

help please, weight sensor fault 2008 E550

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-18-2014, 08:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2009 E550
help please, weight sensor fault 2008 E550

Good evening everyone, I really need some help, bare with me as I explain..

I was unfortunately in a car accident 2 months ago where my 2008 E550 right front corner and side were impacted. The passenger side air bags deployed, nothing else.

The car is at a local 'Mercedes authorized sevice center' who is stating to me that, and I quote:

"We have discovered a weight sensor fault for the passenger front seat that at this time are unable to clear from the system. We have placed a call to the shop foreman at Mercedes Benz of Littleton to see if they can clear the code remotely, this fault is directly linked to your S.R.S. system and we must have it cleared prior to the car leaving as it is a safety device."

I am no mechanic, but what is he talking about 'remotely'?? They have had my car for 2 months...and now they have this issue after everything else has been fixed. Anyone can help me steer this collision center in the right direction? I am lost and so frustrated with what has transpired, and it seems that a simple sensor should be easily corrected....
any ideas guys/gals? I don't know what to do, afterall, THEY are the repair center, right? (this repair center is affiliated with Audi btw).....

Old 06-18-2014, 09:31 PM
Out Of Control!!

Received 1,048 Likes on 970 Posts
1999 E300TD
Well that is a new one.

Sounds like you chose the wrong shop, however faults can be removed remotely as long as the mux is plugged into the car and the broadcasting wifi system is strong enough for the signal to be received at the Littleton shop laptop. That distance is not available commercial technology.