Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-07-2017, 06:25 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
GLC
Couple GLC Niggles....

Hello folks,

Newbie here.

Have a 2016 GLC which overall I love. Lots more personality than the various Lexuses I have owned. However, do have one issue that seems to be getting under my skin.

Every time the car is driven after its been standing for some time (like overnite), so the engine's cold.....about half a mile from the start point, there is a gentle clunk from behind the steering wheel/console area. It does it almost about exactly at this distance. It does it only once and then drives perfectly all day long. Does it in all drive modes. Has nothing to do with road conditions or imperfections. I live in Houston where its been 80 degrees lately....so can't say its been cold. I would love to take it to the dealer but its a nuisance of a problem to replicate since it only does it when the car's not warm.

As far as I can tell, no gear shifts are taking place at the exact moment when the noise occurs. Any ideas? Is this something concerning?

Oh, and I have given up on Keyless Go. Does not work about 75% of the time. Works reliably when the key is in direct line of sight to the starter button area. Dealer says my other key - an Audi - is interfering. Who knows. Just annoying. Have changed batteries etc. No improvement.

I also have the screeching brakes, juddering wipers and have experienced the tire "crabbing" once in cold, wet conditions. The car is a 2016 RWD with 18 inch tires. I consider them part of the car's personality.

Thanks for any suggestions you might have.
Old 02-07-2017, 06:40 PM

Received 17 Likes on 13 Posts
2005 SL500, 2022 RX350, 2016 GLC300 4Matic(Sold), 2008 RX350 (sold), 2003 RX300(sold)
Originally Posted by usulbaggins