S-Class (W220) 1999-2006: S 320 CDI, S 320, S430, S 500, S 600

Airmatic v. ABC Handlig?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-30-2012, 10:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2007 CLS550
Airmatic v. ABC Handlig?

How big of a difference is there between Airmatic and ABC handling? Never driven an ABC car.
Old 05-01-2012, 12:56 AM

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
2005 Mercedes S600, 2004 Mercedes E500 4-Matic, 2002 Mercedes C32 AMG, 2001 Trans-Am WS-6
Originally Posted by ChapelHillMBFan
How big of a difference is there between Airmatic and ABC handling? Never driven an ABC car.
Funny, I was thinking to myself this morning as I was flinging my car around an on-ramp that given a choice, I will definitely go with another ABC equipped vehicle. I speak from experience of having had all three setups; although I do not take any of the vehicles to the track, I am a spirited driver.

I previously had a C32 ///AMG which had neither airmatic nor the hydraulic ABC, but was a very stiff suspension and could not be adjusted. Definitely loved it, but it was a light car designed for speed and weekend track use.

I presently have an E500 with the Airmatic and an S600 with ABC. I think it's a night and day difference in the ride between the two but definitely when cornering either of these heavy vehicles.