S-Class (W221) 2007-2013: S 320 CDI, S 350, S 450, S 500, S 550, S 420 CDI, S 600

Newbie help with finalizing order (AMG pack)

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-10-2006, 08:00 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newbie help with finalizing order (AMG pack)

Hi,

First by way of introduction I'm a Mercedes newbie. I'm a long time BMW and Porsche owner, buying my first Mercedes. (Other than the 190E that was handed down to me).

So I need to finalize my S550 order this week and I'm stuck on the AMG package. My other car that I'm keeping is a GT3 which I track so that will be the car for performance driving that I'm not stupid enough to do on public roads. In order words, I get that out of my system on weekends.

So the purpose of this car is definitely comfort and quiet. It will be daily driver on my 50 miles round trip commute and our weekend family car. So comfort and quiet are the main priorities.

However, I'm not willing to totally sacrifice handling which is why (a) I'm not buying a Lexus and (b) I am ordering ABC. It's my understanding that ABC improves handling without any sacrifice in comfort or noise, so that's why I'm choosing that (please, MB veterans, correct me if I'm wrong)

But I'm not sure about the AMG pack. I doubt 19" wheels will do anything to improve handling. And I'm afraid they will add noise and harshness especially since the only available 19" tires seem to be max performance summer tires which I know get loud after a couple of months of wear (or a couple of track sessions. ) BUT, my wife absolutely loves the look of the AMG pack and thinks we should get it.

So, for those of you with the AMG package, how noisy do those tires get after a couple of months?