S-Class (W221) 2007-2013: S 320 CDI, S 350, S 450, S 500, S 550, S 420 CDI, S 600

interested in comparison of S550 4Matic to '06 Audi A8 W12

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-10-2009, 05:11 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
s 500
interested in comparison of S550 4Matic to '06 Audi A8 W12

any views of the two ?- currently very happy with a '06 S500 4Matic but coming to end of warranty so might change to a low mileage '06 W12 - experience or opinions would be appreciated - thank you
Old 01-10-2009, 05:50 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
2007 S600
Never have owned one but I've had some experience with W12. Very , very smooth engine.

I have driven A8 8 cylinders lately and the car is very well constructed and very beautiful. The Audi W12 /v8 would be my 2nd best car on my list. I would pick it over Lexus and BMW.
Old 01-10-2009, 08:21 PM

Something on 4 wheels..
Originally Posted by Derby
any views of the two ?- currently very happy with a '06 S500 4Matic but coming to end of warranty so might change to a low mileage '06 W12 - experience or opinions would be appreciated - thank you
I've seen one of them (wel was prob. an 07/08) at the last Detroit Auto Show - was parked next to an S8.

It truely looked beautiful and if it's well equipped, you can't go wrong (I think it might come standard with rear entertainment system, 2(!) monitors in headrests. At least the 08 did.

When it comes to craftmanship, Audi is TOP!
Old 01-10-2009, 10:49 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts
Mercedes-Benz
I detailed an A8 W12 and thought the car was absolutely amazing. Full leather interior trim (dash and doors) and nice little creature comforts. I'd love to own one.
Old 01-10-2009, 10:54 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

2007 S600
I like the timeless , no nonsense design of Audi A8s. I would say at first, the newly designed grille was controversial, but I've grown to like its commanding presence.

The rest of the car has always impressed me.
Old 01-11-2009, 08:27 AM