S-Class (W221) 2007-2013: S 320 CDI, S 350, S 450, S 500, S 550, S 420 CDI, S 600

2009 Red Battery Not Charging Light

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-30-2022, 07:02 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2004 sl500, 2009 S550
2009 Red Battery Not Charging Light

Hello all,
First time posting thought I should get some help with an issue I having for about 6 months. My 09 S550 was fine, took to get smogged and all heck started. Couple day after smog, white charging light came on. Took vehicle to 2 independent MB shops here in Lancaster, CA. Both say battery, alt was fine, They say had to take to dealer to upgrade software to clear codes. Called dealer they say what software ,no updates. Shops seemed good both were referrals. One shop say ok to drive as everything system was charging. He replaced both batteries. Light not off, Now says something about recall on instrament cluster as malfuctions incorectly shows not charging when it is. MBZ newbie here...any help or suggestion greatly appreciated.
Old 12-01-2022, 09:59 AM
Out Of Control!!

Received 4,438 Likes on 3,153 Posts
'71 Pinto
SA should have checked Vehicle Master Inquiry (VMI) to see if there are any outstanding Service and/or Recall campaigns for your VIN. Software update suggested by independents may have already been applied if applicable. In example found attached service campaign that may or may not be applicable.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf
2008120002.pdf (101.8 KB, 31 views)
Old 12-01-2022, 01:20 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 909 Likes on 754 Posts
S500
is it a facelift car (different tail lights) ? if so its normal - its come up on this forum a few times this year no one ever came back to say how it got fixed.....