S-Class (W222) 2014-2020

Precautionary Tale Regarding Custom Exhaust Modification

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-09-2021, 01:46 AM

Received 43 Likes on 29 Posts
W222 S550 4Matic and Jeep Wrangler Rubicon
Precautionary Tale Regarding Custom Exhaust Modification

I consider myself as someone with moderate to advance automotive knowledge, so the following is highly embarrassing for me to admit.

When I bought my 2016 S550 in March of 2020, I immediately fell madly and deeply in love. I was graduating from a W220 to the W222, and the car I found checked off all the right boxes. I was looking forward to feeling the power of the 4.7 liter twin turbo V8 and it truly delivered. My only disappointment was that I could not hear it. I could feel it, but I never heard it. As a spirited driver, I found the car to be highly responsive for a large luxury sedan. However, I never got the visceral response of a deep bass note that one would expect when being propelled by a 4.7 liter twin turbo V8 producing 450HP. The final blow was when I approached the car after using remote start. Standing behind the car, the only way I knew it was running is if the lights were on.

To quench my thirst, I set about finding an exhaust upgrade. I was deciding between Renntech and MEC, but the cost for either seemed far too excessive for what comes in the kit. I then started exploring custom options to achieve the desired goal. I knew that a muffler or resonator delete was out of the question. Having always been a fan of Flowmaster, I took some measurements and chose a muffler that matched my preferred sound qualities. I had a local muffler shop install the mufflers and the cold start was exactly what I had always wanted. The sound was perfect! My car was finally complete! Then I drove it.