Sponsored by:

Potential Buyers Beware: A Warning from a Recent W211 E55 Buyer

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-29-2010, 01:31 PM
Calvin2376

Potential Buyers Beware: A Warning from a Recent W211 E55 Buyer

Hello everyone,

I'll make this post short and to the point. I am a recent college graduate (read: not making tons of money) who saved up for a long time to buy his dream car. As a college graduation present to myself, I finally purchased it: a 2003 W211 E55 AMG. It had about 66,000 miles and came with a 3 year/36k mile third-party extended warranty. It was a bone-stock, one-owner car, and that owner had all work done on it at the dealership he purchased it from. Seemed to be ideal conditions.

Today is October 29, 2010. I purchased the car in June 2010, about 4 months ago. I had the car inspected prior to purchase and that came up clean. In the 4 months since purchase:

1) Idler pulley bearing wore out, wore down pulley with it, was causing knocking in the engine bay - replaced pulley, not covered by warranty, cost $600

2) Center console cupholder stopped functioning, small plastic bit broke off which prevented spring from working - have not replaced, would cost $100

3) Keyless Go door handles on 2 of 4 doors stopped functioning - being replaced under warranty, cost $800

4) Obnoxious loud ticking sound from A/C blower fan behind glove compartment - undiagnosed, would incur at least 3 hours of shop time to pull out dashboard to diagnose

5) Steering angle sensor defective, send ESP malfunctions to dash - have not replaced yet, not under warranty, cost $400

6) Right thrust arm bushing worn out - under warranty, cost $70

7) Left thrust arm cracked - replace under warranty, cost $500

8) Left upper ball joint worn out - replace under warranty, cost $400