E-Class (W124) 1984-1995: E 260, E 300, E 320, E 420, E 500 (Includes CE, T, TD models)

Is it stupid of me to want this car?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-23-2007, 04:46 PM

Received 6 Likes on 3 Posts
CLA250
Is it stupid of me to want this car?

http://spokane.craigslist.org/car/378234979.html

I'm a poor student, normally I'd buy some Accord, Civic or Corolla, but I always dreamt of having a proper Mercedes and I might just afford this one. And they are so gorgeous in white!

I would like to know how dangerous could it be buying this car? Is this model reliable in general, what to look for, is this a right price?

Thanks...
Old 07-23-2007, 05:04 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
W210 E320
the W124s are built like tanks, as long as they have been serviced properly then you should have no problems
Old 07-23-2007, 05:58 PM

Received 6 Likes on 3 Posts
CLA250
Originally Posted by ReZzZ320
the W124s are built like tanks, as long as they have been serviced properly then you should have no problems
Ok, thank you, I'll call the owner now...
Old 07-23-2007, 06:46 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
1990 300ce
I wouldn't recommend buying that car if you don't have much cash to maintain it. These cars are generally reliable, but they do require about $2-3k per year in maintenance if you take it to a mechanic.

Probably around $1-2k per year if you know cars.
Old 07-23-2007, 07:29 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

89 300TE, and 68 280sel
I'd say $500 to $2k a year. If you can turn a wrench, you can maintain it, easy squeezy.
Old 07-23-2007, 09:12 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

1995 E320 SE, 162,000 Miles (Sold)
Originally Posted by Bigpete123
I wouldn't recommend buying that car if you don't have much cash to maintain it. These cars are generally reliable, but they do require about $2-3k per year in maintenance if you take it to a mechanic.