GLK-Class (X204) Produced 2008-2014

722.960 transmission fluid change incidentals...

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-28-2017, 12:31 PM

Received 41 Likes on 38 Posts
2012 GLK
Question 722.960 transmission fluid change incidentals...

Preparing to take this on in my garage. i have read every 722.9 DIY change thread, viewed every youtube, until my eyes bleed over the last two weeks. This isnt my first transmission fluid change, but it is for me on GLK. I just want to confirm a few things...

my VIN (WDCGG8HB6CF908575) is coming up as 722.960. My truck is 5 years old and 30k miles so its due.

wanted to confirm the following since im a noob...
- my transmission is not a Plus
- my oil pan is already the larger one
- i will use Blue fluid per (the dealer)
- will need roughly 9.5 qts (including TQ)

Update completed the service, details in this thread.
https://mbworld.org/forums/glk-class...vice-time.html

Last edited by B737; 01-27-2019 at 10:16 PM.
Old 04-28-2017, 06:57 PM

Received 17 Likes on 14 Posts
10 GLK350/ 15 Accord/ 94 Supra Turbo
mine only too 6 quarts even though i let the torque converter drain for 30 min, i filled it up and got the trans up to temp and all i put in was 6 quarts and it was full. I used Shell 134 and my transmission is smooth and function normal.
Old 04-29-2017, 03:52 PM

2012 GLK
Thank you tony
your car may have smaller oil pan, there was a change over I think.
I'm going to try and use icarsoft 980 to read transmission temp for the procedure.

Hopefully the rest of what I posted above is correct
Old 04-30-2017, 06:52 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
GLK350
i was able to get 7 qt back into the tranny, also had all the bolts and filter replaced.
Your suppose to get the tranny into 80 degrees F then check the fluid level.
Old 05-17-2017, 08:41 PM

2012 GLK
Originally Posted by AzCamel