Sponsored by:

weird trans problem

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-30-2017, 10:21 AM

Received 69 Likes on 59 Posts
2003 Mercedes E55 AMG
weird trans problem

ok guys wanted to get some recommendations from you that may have experienced it and what fixed it.

Car has just over 100k on it 2003 e55 amg

It got a new MB remanned transmission and torque converter less than 20k ago by previous owner at MB dealership in vegas I called and verified it was done. Also has a newer Nissens radiator in it as well so not radiator related

I changed the fluid and filter using 134 fluid just a few 100 miles ago didnt need it but since im a new owner an tech I like to make sure my cars are tip top shape. I also installed a new adapter plug .... cleaned the cable with electrical cleaner and installed a new eurocharged TCU and cleaned the harness up top. There was a lil fluid that had wicked its way up probably from previous trans as the adapter had almost nothing on itcouple drops on bottom. The TCU is new cus the old one got lots of fluid in iut and didnt work properly. I have zero codes in the trans or the engine have a dipstick to check fluid level and at 80 degrees im just a hair under the top line of the high fill point.

Now the problem the car runs great holds all the power to redline like a champ but my problem comes sporadically when coming off a stop lightly. It will sometime do an almost double shift going into 2nd. Other times it goes in perfectly with zero issue. I notice some extra shifting jerks here and there almost like the torque converter locking up but dont quite know been a manual man for a time and just switched to this E55 being it was a great deal on a dream car ive wanted for some time.