Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-27-2018, 08:43 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 72 Likes on 56 Posts
2007 Mercedes E550
How to adjust toe and camber

Hi All-
I'm studying how to perform alignment DIY.
But I first wanted to verify the following information and ask several question:

1. Camber is the angle of the tire, and if camber was off there would be excessive wear on the inner or outer tie rod.

2. To adjust camber, the locking/adjustment nuts would need to be loosened. Clockwise would loosen the nut on our car, as that is turning the bolt away from the outer tie rod. I believe adjusting the tie rod counterclockwise to address wear on outer portion of tire??

3. The toe is the actual direction of the tire (whether pointed in or out). I am not sure how to adjust; is it adjusting the ball joint up or down on the outer tie rod?

4. Are there bolts to loosen to make steering wheel straight??

Please let me know your thoughts!? Have a great day.
Old 07-27-2018, 10:59 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 930 Likes on 722 Posts
'99 and '05 E55 AMG
https://mbworld.org/forums/w211-amg/...ml#post7338053

https://mbworld.org/forums/w211-amg/...ml#post7339193

Assuming you are talking about your CLS500 which is almost identical to the E500...
1. On the W211, camber is adjusted by raising/lowering the car and/or installing camber bolts (not sure this will work on the W211 front sub-frame based on one post). Generally, excessive toe is what destroys the inside or outside of the tire tread. If you have Airmatic on your CLS, you can calibrate the suspension to bring camber back into line.
https://mbworld.org/forums/w211-amg/...ml#post6873199
2. You're describing toe adjustment.
3. Use the tie-rod ends.
4. Use the tie-rod ends.
The following users liked this post:
LexBrett2 (07-27-2018)
Old 07-27-2018, 12:05 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

2007 Mercedes E550
THANK YOU

Originally Posted by bbirdwell
https://mbworld.org/forums/w211-amg/...ml#post7338053