Sponsored by:

E55 higher mileage reliability?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-02-2018, 11:25 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
chrysler 200
E55 higher mileage reliability?

Hey all, I’ve been in the market for a muscley sedan for a while now, and I’m thinking the W211 E55 is right for me. It’s got features I want, a great engine (from what I’ve read), and it’s an MB, which I’ve always wanted.

Im looking at a 2005 right now with 91k on the clock. It had some work done at 30k, receipts from the shop, no major repairs on carfax, so I’m sold, but I have literally zero experience with these cars. I studied Audi S4s for a LONG time, so I know the ins and outs of them, but with a third child, that backseat just wasn’t working. I’ve done some research on the car, and the drivetrain seems to be pretty much bulletproof, but I’m wondering what specific things I should be looking for when I go to check out the car.

From the owner’s description “Has an evosport stage 2 performance kit which was installed by original owner at about 30k miles which includes shorty headers, 80mm crank pulley, plugs/wires, and a tune. Its a proven setup with excellent reliability rated at 580hp”. Is this a known setup? Any issues with it that have been found out over the years?

im prepared to take on the increased fuel costs (this is a weekend toy anyway, I have a company car for day to day stuff) and I’m fully aware what routine maintenance (plugs and wires, pads and rotors, etc), but I really need an expert to tell me where things would have gone wrong by now, what to look for in reference to a shoddy repair of said issue, and when my next major maintenance issue is going to pop up (car is at 91k right now)

Any help would be much appreciated.
Old 07-02-2018, 12:00 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 78 Likes on 68 Posts
05 E55, 98 CLK320
91k is not a lot of miles, the biggest difference are the owners of the car.